Welcome Guest!!

Welcome to SCCX, for full access to the forums, please register and join our community, it's free.

Author Topic: Hello from Santa Monica  (Read 5252 times)

AGSchu119

• 4wd Pts: 0
    • 2008 Xterra
Hello from Santa Monica
« on: March 06, 2016, 07:06:32 PM »
Hello all,

I am new to the forum and especially new to the OHV scene but am looking forward to using my X to escape the city. I am relatively new to the Los Angeles area but need to escape on the weekends and so I have been really enjoying reading through this site. Thank you for all the great information already and I look forward to being a part of this community. Anyway, I am a teacher here in West LA and so will be planning to add some mods slowly over the next year or so.

My first question: I have a 2008 Standard Edition, automatic, 4WD with 120k miles. Besides the fluid flushes and the obvious new tires, what are some typical first mods. My first thoughts are performance, not aesthetic. I want to eventually upgrade my roof rack, add some lights and perhaps a new bumper and skid plates, but I am mostly concerned with my high mileage and so high worn parts.

It seems the consensus says get new tires ASAP...mine are okay, but what about new shocks? I was poking around under the car today after removing the running board/step, and things just look old down there. Does anyone have any suggestions there? I may be looking to lift it a bit, but not so much that my current tires look ridiculous?

Anyway, I am sure I will have plenty of answers soon and I look forward to hopefully making it out for an excursion sometime. In the meantime, I have been researching places to drive. It looks like Asuza Canyon OHV Park is a fun place to go? Any other must drive beginner trails in the area?

Thanks so much!

CAWoody

• 4wd Pts: 72
    • 2018 Toyota Tacoma (Really miss the X)
Re: Hello from Santa Monica
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2016, 08:05:31 PM »